Permanent immigration in the US comes with a variety of rights and privileges. One of the most widely used methods to obtain permanent residency is through employment. There are five classifications for employment-based immigration.
EB-1 Priority workers
1. Persons of extraordinary ability in the sciences, arts, education, business, or athletics.
2. Outstanding professors and researchers with at least three years experience in teaching or research, who are recognized internationally.
3. Certain executives and managers who have been employed at least one of the three preceding years by the overseas affiliate, parent, subsidiary, or branch of the U.S. employer.
EB-2 Professionals with advanced degrees or persons with exceptional ability
1. Professionals holding an advanced degree (beyond a baccalaureate degree), or a baccalaureate degree and at least five years progressive experience in the profession.
2. Persons with exceptional ability in the arts, sciences, or business. Exceptional ability means having a degree of expertise significantly above that ordinarily encountered within the field.
EB-3 Skilled, unskilled, or professional workers
1. Skilled workers capable of performing a job requiring at least two years'' training or experience.
2. Professionals with at least a university bachelor's degree.
3. Other workers (Unskilled workers, EW-3)
EB-4 Special Immigrants
1. Religious workers
2. Employees and former employees of the US Government abroad
EB-5 Immigrant Investors
1. Engaging/starting in a new commercial enterprise in the U.S. with a minimum investment of half a million dollars
2. Showing that the new enterprise will either directly or indirectly create 10 or more jobs.